Join NCRA   |  Store  |  NCRA Online Sourcebook  |  FAQ  |  Pressroom  |  Contact Us
Certification & Training

NCRA Certifications

NCRA certifications have set the standard for excellence since 1935.

That year, NCRA's first certification program was established to individually recognize the competence of court reporters. In the first year 27 reporters passed the first exam, establishing themselves as "Certified Professionals," or CPs.

Since then, NCRA's certification programs have become perhaps your most valuable membership benefit. The certification program now has three tiers of achievement and proudly claims nearly 11,000 Registered Professional Reporters (RPRs), the updated equivalent of the CP. Over 2,100 reporters have earned the next level of certification, the Registered Merit Reporter (RMR), and over 450 have become Registered Diplomate Reporters (RDRs). In addition, there are over 2,350 Certified Realtime Reporters (CRR), 289 Certified Broadcast Captioners (CBC) and 228 Certified Cart Providers (CCP).

For testing dates, location, costs, etc., please visit the Certification Test Center.

For more information on these programs follow the links below:

Registered Professional Reporter (RPR)
Registered Merit Reporter (RMR)
Registered Diplomate Reporter (RDR)

Over the years, NCRA has established seven more certification programs:

Certified Realtime Reporter (CRR)
Certified Broadcast Captioner (CBC)
Certified CART Provider (CCP)
Certified Legal Video Specialist (CLVS)
Certified Reporting Instructor (CRI)
Master Certified Reporting Instructor (MCRI)
Certified Program Evaluator (CPE)

All of these programs recognize expertise in new and expanding reporter markets.