Join NCRA   |  Store  |  NCRA Online Sourcebook  |  FAQ  |  Pressroom  |  Contact Us
The Foundation

NCRF Scholarships & Awards

NCRF raises funds to support & recognize both the court reporting professional, and the student reporter.     

Santo J. Aurelio Award for Altruism

Each year at the NCRA Convention, the National Court Reporters Foundation awards its highest honor, the Santo J. Aurelio Award for altruism. This award goes to a long-time court reporter who has given back selflessly to the profession or community. The nominee must be an NCRA Participating or Registered member, or a Retired Participating or Registered member; must have demonstrated altruistic behavior; and must have been a working reporter for at least 25 years. The 2013 winner was announced during the Awards Luncheon on Saturday, August 10th, during NCRA’s Convention & Expo in Nashville, Tennessee. He is David Jackson, RDR, of Dallas, Texas, a working reporter for more than 40 years who has given back generously to his profession and to his community.  More…

For Students

The Foundation is thrilled to be awarding three scholarships and one grant in 2014 to deserving NCRA members.  In order to qualify for either the Frank Sarli Memorial Scholarship, or the (2) Student Intern Scholarships awarded each year, students must be enrolled in an NCRA certified court reporting program, be a member of NCRA, have a 3.5 GPA and meet other criteria.  **Note: our scholarships are not designed to be self-nominating, rather student nominees are selected by their program instructor or program administrator based on qualifications and financial need.  For more information contact B.J. Shorak, NCRF Deputy Executive Director, at, or on 800/272-6272, ext. 126.  

Frank Sarli Memorial Scholarship  -- Deadline Extended to April 4, 2014   

Frank Sarli dedicated his professional life to court reporting, and especially to students, serving many years on NCRA's committees and boards that guide the education of court reporting students. NCRF gives out a $2,000 scholarship each year in Mr. Sarli's memory to a student nearing graduation who meets very specific criteria demonstrating achievement and professionalism. The deadline for this year’s nominations has been extended to April 4, 2014.  Click here for the Nomination Form. 

New Professional Reporter Grant -- Deadline Extended to April 4, 2014     

NCRF awards an annual $2,000 grant to a qualified new working reporter who graduated from an NCRA-certified program within the last year.  The reporter must be nominated by his/her supervisor or employer and must be working in one of three career paths:  judicial (official/freelance); CART or Captioning.  The grant is intended to help the reporter establish him- or herself as a professional, or help with such items as school loans, equipment purchases, etc.  Nominees must meet specific criteria and represent the qualities of a stellar reporter.  The deadline for this year’s nominations has been extended to April 4, 2014.  Click here for the Nomination Form.

Student Intern Scholarships

Two 2014 awards will be made in early-summer 2014.  Watch for announcements here and through NCRA media, such as the Journal of Court Reporting and the JCR Weekly emails.

NCRF awards two $1,000 scholarships to students who have completed or are currently performing the required internship portion of their court reporting program. They must also meet other specific criteria, as outlined in the link below.  A generous annual donation from the Reis Family Foundation helps fund these scholarships.  

Past Scholarships   

The following two scholarships are not currently being awarded; however we want to recognize the winners of these scholarships. 

Second-Year Student Scholarship      

Winners received a scholarship in the amount of $1,400.         

Disabled Student Scholarship  

Three disabled court reporting students have received NCRF scholarships in the amount of $1,000 each! 

Updated: 03/25/14